- Search Results
Liberia Declares National Mourning For late Ruth Perry
Date Uploaded: Jan 26, 2017

 President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf


Liberia Declares National Mourning For late Ruth Perry

By Prince S. Nagbe

MONROVIA, January 25 (LINA) – President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has declared a nationwide period of mourning as a mark of last respect and tribute to the late former Chairperson of the Council of State of the National Transitional Government, Mrs. Ruth Sando Perry.

According to the official funeral arrangements from the office of the Chief of Protocol of the Republic of Liberia, Jervis A. Witherspoon, President Sirleaf ordered that during the period of mourning the national flag will be flown at half-mast from all public buildings from Tuesday, January 24 to Monday, February 6, 2017.

The statement disclosed that a Book of Condolence for the late Madam Perry will be opened in the Foyer of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Thursday, January 26, while wake-keeping will be held at the Trinity Episcopal Church, 125 Broad Street, Columbus, Ohio, United States of America at 10:00 P.M.

Funeral rites of the former Council of State Chairperson will be held at the same edifice at 8:00 A.M. on Saturday, January 28, while interment follows at the Glenn Rest Memorial Cemetery, Columbus, Ohio at 11:00 A.M. on the same day.

The Book of Condolence of the late Ruth Perry will be signed by President Sirleaf and members of her cabinet from 10 to 10:30 A.M., while the Vice President Joseph Boakai and members of the Senate will sign from 10:35 to 11:00 A.M.

Other government officials, members of the Diplomatic and Consular Corps, members of civil society organizations, officials of political parties, heads of public corporations and autonomous agencies, families and friends and the general public will follow subsequently.

Ruth Sando Fahnbulleh Perry, who was born on July 16, 1939, was a Liberian politician who served as the interim Chairperson of the Council of State of the National Transitional Government of Liberia from September 3, 1996 to August 2, 1997 following the first Liberian civil war.

The interim Council of State consisted of a civilian chair and members of warring factions, which included Charles Taylor of the National Patriotic Front of Liberia (NPFL); Alhaji Kromah of the United Liberation Movement of Liberia for Democracy (ULIMO-K); George Boley of the Liberia Peace Council (LPC), and two other civilians.



latest headlines
U.S. Embassy Official Nudges Graduates To Believe In Self
he Economics Officer at the US Embassy here, Lilieth Whyte, has told graduates of the ‘Be The Change Academy’ Entrepreneurship Training and J ...more
Cadet Collins Departs for US West Point Military Academy
A young Liberian, Cadet Scott Amos Collins, has departed Liberia for the prestigious West Point Military Academy in the United States of America. ...more
‘Mental Disorder A Problem Globally, But Grave In Liberia’ - Macualey
The Chairman of the Liberia Chapter of the West African College of Physicians. Dr. Rose Jallah Macualey, says mental disorder is a global problem ...more
Defense Ministry Differs With Brumskine Over ‘Zogos’ Recruitment
The Defense Ministry says its attention has been drawn to the Thursday, June 22, edition of the New Democrat Newspaper under the banner headline ...more
GoL, LADA Hold Awareness On Food Safety Standards, Law
The Government of Liberia (GOL) and the Liberia Agro-Business Development Activities (LADA) have held an event aimed at creating awareness among ...more
Liberia Turns Over ECOWAS Ambassadorial Post To Togo
Liberian Ambassador to the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Prof. Al-Hassan Conteh, has turned over the Chairmanship of ECOWAS Permanent Representati ...more
All rights reserved © 2013 - 2014
Liberia News Agency