- Search Results
Anti-Tyler Bloc Advances 8 Resolutions Against Embattled Speaker
Date Uploaded: Aug 09, 2016

Capitol Building



Anti-Tyler Bloc Advances 8 Resolutions Against Embattled Speaker

By Wilfred Gortor

MONROVIA, August 9 (LINA) – In their quest to unseat House Speaker Alex Tyler, members of the anti-Tyler bloc at the House of Representatives on Tuesday intensified their pursuit by advancing an eight-count resolution calling for the Speaker’s removal.

Speaker Tyler has in recent times come under pressure from members of the anti-Tyler bloc, calling on him to recuse himself from presiding over that August body for being named along with other senior officials of government in a recent report released by Global Witness alleging they received bribe to alter portion of the country's concession law.

The first count of the resolution which was read by the group's Secretary, Munah Pelham-Youngblood, stressed that Tyler has lost legitimacy and popular consent to preside over the House of Representatives.

The resolution stated that rather than hiding under the authority of the Speaker's gavel, Tyler should exonerate himself of the criminal charges for which he has been indicted by recusing himself from presiding over the body and utilize the due process being offered through the court system.

The anti-Tyler lawmakers in the resolution also accused the Speaker of attempting to thwart justice, as he has embarked on series of actions with the intent of dividing the House, something they termed as undermining the unity and cohesiveness of the Legislature.

The resolution also accused Tyler of denigrating his colleagues by refusing to listen to their concerns and terming them as "surrogates," especially when they attempt to speak about intolerance and undemocratic tendencies being practiced by him.

The resolution was signed by a total of 39 lawmakers, leaving an impression that the effort to unseat Speaker Tyler at the House of Representatives is deepening and
gradually gaining ground.

Some of the anti-Tyler lawmakers who signed the resolution include Grand Kru County Representative Numene Bartekwah, Chairman; Rep. Edwin Snowe, Rep. George Mulbah, Rep. Acarous Gray; Rep. Edward Forh and Rep. Josephine Francis.


latest headlines
CNFA-Liberia& Partners SupportCommercialization of Local Rice
An international NGO, Cultivating New Frontiers in Agriculture-Liberia (CNFA-Liberia) and the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IF ...more
Coca-Cola Africa Recommits To WASH Promotion
Coca-Cola Bolstering Africa’s Resilience and Replenish Africa Initiative Programs say more than six million Africans are expected to be reached ...more
Children Forum Craves Justice In Bong
More than 150 children from the 13 administrative districts of Bong County under the umbrella of the Liberian Children Forum have gathered in Gba ...more
PUL To Hold Conflict Sensitive Journalism, Social Media Activists Training
The Press Union of Liberia (PUL) has announced that it will hold a two-day Conflict Sensitive Journalism and Social Media Activists Training from ...more
UN Begins Women Confab In Bong
The United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and Empowerment of Women in Liberia is currently conducting four-day Peace Hut Women Strategic Plan ...more
CU Prexy Brown Is 170th Independence Day National Orator
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has announced that Dr. Herman Beseah Browne, President of the Cuttington University is the 170th Independence Ann ...more
All rights reserved © 2013 - 2014
Liberia News Agency