- Search Results
Weah Heads Liberia’s ECOWAS.....
Date Uploaded: Feb 16, 2016

 Montserrado County Senator George M. Weah



Weah Heads Liberia’s ECOWAS Parliamentary Delegation
By Wilfred Gortor, LINA

MONROVIA, February 16 (LINA) - Montserrado County Senator George M. Weah has been named Chairman of Liberia’s delegation to the Parliament of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

The decision was reached by members of the Liberia ECOWAS Parliamentary delegation after Sinoe County Representative Jefferson Kanmoh, who previously led the delegation, was elected the Third Deputy Speaker of the ECOWAS Parliament at the Inaugural Session of the 4th Legislature of the ECOWAS Parliament held recently in Abuja, Nigeria.

The Liberian delegation also included Senator Prince Johnson of Nimba County,
Representative Haja Fata Siryon of Bomi County and Representative Edwin M. Snowe of Montserrado County.

Making the disclosure during a press conference with Legislative Reporters at the Capitol Building in Monrovia Tuesday, Kanmoh said given the enormity of the responsibilities imposed on him as the 3rdDeputy Speaker of the Parliament, he requested his colleagues to relieve him of the duty of Chairman.

The Inaugural Session, which was held from February 4-9, was intended to elect the leadership of the Parliament, constitute the various standing committees and adopt rules of procedures that will guide the working of the body.

Meanwhile, Senator Weah was also named member of the Parliament’s Committees on Labour, Employment, Youth, Sports and Culture.

Senator Prince Johnson was named member of the Committees on Political Affairs, Peace, Security and African Peer Review Mechanism, while Representative Siryon was admitted as members of the Committees on Gender, Women Empowerment and Social Protection.

Motserrado County Representative Edwin Snowe was elected Vice Chairman
of the Committees on Finance Administration, Budget Control and Audit.

latest headlines
Judge Kaba Reserves Ruling In E.J. Roye Building Case
Judge Yussuf D. Kaba of the Civil Law Court has reserved ruling in a motion for Declaratory Judgment filed by some individuals calling themselves ...more
CENTAL Raises Eyebrow About Political Parties Spending
The Center for Transparency and Accountability in Liberia (CENTAL) has expressed concern over the expenditure of political parties on fleets of n ...more
LTA, Partners End Int’l Internet Workshop
The Liberia Telecommunications Authority (LTA) and partners have ended a two-day international workshop on ICANN (the Internet Cooperation for As ...more
Liberia To Host GIABA Plenary, Ministerial Meetings
Liberia will host the Intergovernmental Action Group against Money Laundering in West Africa (GIABA) 27th Technical Commission/Plenary and 17th M ...more
GOL, Sweden Sign US$21.6m Accord On Feeder Roads In 7 Counties
The Governments of Liberia and Sweden have signed a US$21.6 million agreement to support the third phase of the Liberia-Swedish Feeder Roads Proj ...more
Defense Ministry Relaxes Camp Ramrod Eviction
The Ministry of Defense has with immediate effect put on hold its notice of eviction to inhabitants of the 72nd Camp Ramrod Barracks in Paynesvil ...more
All rights reserved © 2013 - 2014
Liberia News Agency