- Search Results
Pres. Sirleaf To Honor Ebola ‘Freedom Fighters’
Date Uploaded: Jul 17, 2015

 President of Liberia Ellen Johnson Sirleaf



Pres. Sirleaf To Honor Ebola ‘Freedom Fighters’

By Prince Nagbe, LINA

MONROVIA, July 16 (LINA) – The President of Liberia and Grand Master of the Orders of Distinction, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, will on Friday, July 17 confer distinctions on some Liberian citizens and other distinguished personalities for their key roles played in the Ebola fight.

Making the disclosure at the Ministry of Information regular press conference in Monrovia Thursday, the Chief of Protocol of Liberia, Rufus Neufville, said the program is part of activities marking Liberia’s 168th Independence Day Celebration and will take place at the C. Cecil Dennis Auditorium at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.  

Neufville named those to be honored as Dr. Francis Kateh, Deputy Incident Manager and Chief Medical Officer, Rev. Trevor Cockings, a humanitarian, Tolbert G. Nyenswah, head of the Incident Management System and Dr. Jerry Brown, head of the ELWA Ebola Treatment Unit Two.

Others include Dr. Kent Brantly of Samaritan Purse, Dr. Gobah Logan, head of Bomi County Health Team, Dr. Wilmot Frank, head of Sinoe County Health Team, Dr. Soka Moses, medical doctor, Dr. Moses Massaquoi, head of Case Management, and Dr. Mosoka Fallah, Active Case Finder.

Ambassador Neufville also named Dr. Markandu Kanagasabai, Dr. Philip Zochonis Ireland, Saah Joseph, Montserrado County Representative, Dr. Izuchukwu Cosmas Aroh, Dr. Fanta Kibungu, and Dr. Emmanuel Dolo, Coordinator, Presidential Advisory Committee on Ebola as some of those to receive the honor of distinction from the President.

According to the Chief of Protocol, President Sirleaf will also honor the head of the Ebola burial team, Mark Korvayan, Ms. Barbara Bono, an Ebola survivor and nurse, Mr. Joel Williams, an Ebola survivor and administrator and the Liberia Council of Chiefs and Elders.

Neufville told journalists that President Sirleaf will also bestow distinctions on institutions that were also instrumental in containing the further spread of the Ebola virus in the country.

He named the institutions as the Liberia Council of Churches, the National Muslim Council, the ETA Beta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc., Eta Epsilon Lambda Chapter # 26 of the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc., the Firestone Rubber Company, Royal Air Maroc, Brussels Airlines and the Press Union of Liberia (PUL).


latest headlines
LEC Holds Community Engagements Against Power Theft
The Liberia Electricity Corporation (LEC) has renewed its warning to individuals engaged in power theft to desist, as it was costing government i ...more
Cuttington University Promises To Sustain EHELD Projects
The Administration of the Cuttington University has assured the Excellence in Higher Education for Liberian Development (EHELD) of its commitment ...more
Justice Banks Decline To Issue Prohibition Against Korkoyah
Supreme Court Justice-in-Chamber Philip A. Z. Banks Thursday declined to grant the writ of prohibition requested by Dr. Togba Nah Tipoteh against ...more
VP Boakai Assures LACC Of Support To Tackle Graft
Vice President Joseph N. Boakai has assured the Liberia Anti-Corruption Commission (LACC) of his unreserved commitment to tackle the scourge of c ...more
Pres. Sirleaf Congratulates Luxembourg On ‘National Day'
President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has sent a congratulatory message to His Royal Highness, Grand Duke Henri of Luxembourg, on that country’s Nati ...more
ECOWAS Envoys Congratulate Pres. Sirleaf
The Dean of ECOWAS Ambassadors and Heads of Mission Accredited to Senegal, General Edouard Tiape Kassarate, has congratulated President Ellen Joh ...more
All rights reserved © 2013 - 2014
Liberia News Agency