- Search Results
Pres. Sirleaf Names LEITI Steering......
Date Uploaded: Oct 03, 2014






Pres. Sirleaf Names LEITI Steering Group, Appoints BCTC Board

MONROVIA, October 3 (LINA) - President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has appointed a broad spectrum of diverse groups to the Multi-stakeholder Steering Group (MSG) of the Liberia Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (LEITI).

According to an Executive Mansion release, the appointments are in accordance with Section 1.3(f) (ii) of the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) standards.

Those appointed include Statutory Members (Government of Liberia): Minister of Lands, Mines & Energy (chairman), Ministry of Finance and Development Planning, Minister of Agriculture, Minister of Internal Affairs and the Managing Director, Forestry Development Authority.

Also named are the President/CEO, National Oil Company of Liberia, Commissioner General – Liberia Revenue Authority, Member of the House of Senate (to be named) and Member of the House of Representatives (to be named)

From the Civil Society are Mr. Ezekiel Johnson of the National Labor Congress,

Ms. Marpue M. Speare of WONGOSOL, Mr. James Yarsiah of Right and Rice Foundation and Mrs. Cecelia T. Danuweli of Publish What You Pay Coalition.

The Non-Statutory Members from the Private Sector (Mining) are Mr. Atul Mittal of Western Cluster, Mr. Debar Allen, Aureus Gold and a representative of the Gold &Diamond Brokers & Dealers Association (to be named by the Association)

From the Oil sector is Mr. Keith Conrad of ExxonMobil, while the Forestry sector representative is the Liberia Timber Association (to be named by the Association) and Mr. Henri Harmon of Golden Veroleum from the Agriculture sector.

Others are Chief Zanzan Karwor and the following institutions which will continue to serve as Observers, including United Nations Mission in Liberia, United Nations Development Program, National Civil Society Council and the German Development Cooperation.

Other observers are the United States Embassy, World Bank, African Development Bank and International Monetary Fund.

In another development, President Sirleaf has appointed the following persons as Members of the Board of Trustees of the Bong County Technical College (BCTC).

Dr. Walter T. Wiles, Chairman; Bishop Arthur F. Kulah, Prof. Dr. Roland C. Massaquoi, Mr. Andrew Tehmeh Mrs. Vila Y. Cooper, Superintendent, Bong County Marketing Association and Senator Jewel Howard Taylor.

Others are Mr. George S. Mulbah, Prof. Dr. John S. Flomo, China Union, ArcelorMittal, Director-General of Higher Education, Ex-Officio and Minister of Education, Ex-Officio.



latest headlines
‘Poverty Rate Still High In Africa,’ Says WB Lead Economist
World Bank Lead Economist and the author of the Africa’s Pulse Report, Punam Chuhan-Pole, has observed that with poverty rates still high in th ...more
African Media Group Condemns Killing Of Nigerian Journalist
The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) says it has received with shock reports that Famous Giobaro, a desk editor with the state-owned Glory ...more
LNP Assures Female Contestants Of Full Protection
Police Inspector General Gregory Coleman has assured women vying in the October elections of full police protection during their campaign process ...more
WFP Official Urges Joint Efforts For ‘Zero Hunger’ Goal In Liberia
The World Food Program (WFP) Regional Director for West and Central Africa, Abdou Dieng, has called for collaborative efforts by Liberians to ach ...more
Apostle Suleman Coming To Liberia Again
The President and Founder of the Nigeria-based Omega Fire Ministries (OFM) international is due in the country for a two-day crusade beginning Ma ...more
Police Chief Nudges Youth To Embrace Peace
Police Inspector-General Gregory Coleman has called on Liberian youths to do away with violence and embrace positive thoughts and actions for the ...more
All rights reserved © 2013 - 2014
Liberia News Agency