- Search Results
Bomi College Gets 7-Member Board
Date Uploaded: Apr 16, 2014

Bomi County Superintendent Samuel Brown



Bomi College Gets 7-Member Board

By David Seedee, LINA Bomi County Correspondent

TUBMANBURG, APRIL 16(LINA) – Bomi County Superintendent Samuel Brown has disclosed the appointment of a seven-member Board of Directors of the Bomi County Community College (BCCC) by President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf.

Speaking to the Liberia News Agency in an interview on Tuesday in Tubmanburg, Brown said those appointed were Rev. Dr. Kortu Brown, Chairman; Superintendent Samuel Brown, Co-chairman for Administration and Bomi Senator Lahai Lasanna, member.

The rest of the Board Members will come from Gbarpolu County, said Brown, but he did not name the Board members from neighboring Gbarpolu County.

Superintendent Brown said the Board is now working out modalities to vet three names of individuals to be presented to President Sirleaf to appoint as President of the college.

He was optimistic that the Chief Executive will soon make the appointment of the College’s President.

It can be recalled that the Seo Davies Committee setup by the Ministry of Education (MOE) to probe into the credentials of Dr. Samuel Momweh, present President of the college, in January 2014 recommended to the Commission on Higher Education to prevail on the County Legislative Caucus and the County Authority to implement Article Five, Section One of the Act creating the BCCC.

The Act called for appointment of the College President upon the recommendation of three names of individuals by the Board of Directors to the President to appoint the president of the college.


latest headlines
LEC Holds Community Engagements Against Power Theft
The Liberia Electricity Corporation (LEC) has renewed its warning to individuals engaged in power theft to desist, as it was costing government i ...more
Cuttington University Promises To Sustain EHELD Projects
The Administration of the Cuttington University has assured the Excellence in Higher Education for Liberian Development (EHELD) of its commitment ...more
Justice Banks Decline To Issue Prohibition Against Korkoyah
Supreme Court Justice-in-Chamber Philip A. Z. Banks Thursday declined to grant the writ of prohibition requested by Dr. Togba Nah Tipoteh against ...more
VP Boakai Assures LACC Of Support To Tackle Graft
Vice President Joseph N. Boakai has assured the Liberia Anti-Corruption Commission (LACC) of his unreserved commitment to tackle the scourge of c ...more
Pres. Sirleaf Congratulates Luxembourg On ‘National Day'
President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has sent a congratulatory message to His Royal Highness, Grand Duke Henri of Luxembourg, on that country’s Nati ...more
ECOWAS Envoys Congratulate Pres. Sirleaf
The Dean of ECOWAS Ambassadors and Heads of Mission Accredited to Senegal, General Edouard Tiape Kassarate, has congratulated President Ellen Joh ...more
All rights reserved © 2013 - 2014
Liberia News Agency